The Bad Guys

The Bad Guys Series by Aaron Blabey

I could gush all day long about how fantastic these books are. They are written and illustrated by an Australian author called Aaron Blabey. He is also well known for his wonderful picture books specifically his Pig the Pug series. (which I would also recommend strongly)

The Bad Guys is written and illustrated in a simple comic type format (graphic novel) but with only one to two frames per page. It also has large typeface and clear uncluttered illustrations.

The story centres on four animals (Mr Shark, Mr Spider, Mr Wolf and Mr Piranha) who want to change their image from that of ‘Bad Guys’ and become ‘Good Guys’. To do this they come up with a plan51sMqZCPGjL._SX391_BO1,204,203,200_ to free 200 dogs from the pound. Hilarity ensues.

This was the first fiction book which really grabbed my son. My husband and I read it to him a few times and he would laugh and laugh over the crazy interactions between the characters. Very soon he was reading it to himself. We quickly picked up the next 3 books in the series and my son’s confidence in reading gradually grew stronger. Even more importantly he wanted to read these books.

I firmly believe that humor in children’s books is important. Illustrations to prompt and help the child visualize and comprehend the book is important. The Bad Guys series have done both of these well and for my son it worked.

Number 5 in the series “Intergalactic gas” is currently available in Australia and will be shortly in the United States and elsewhere. We can’t wait.

Checkout number one in the series here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s